Montana Auto Insurance Laws, Rates, and Quotes
Confused about all the car insurance in Montana? Let AAA get you up to speed.
The Big Sky State is made for the adventures on the open road—or just around town. Here’s what you need to know to before setting out to drive in Montana.
What is the average cost of car insurance in Montana?
In Montana, the average car insurance quote is $168 per month or $2,013 per year. But your premium will depend on factors such as which policy you choose and its deductible, as well as your driving record and what kind of car you drive.
What are Montana’s auto insurance laws?
Montana state law requires that every driver carries auto liability insurance. If you’re caught driving without car insurance, you could be fined or spend up to 10 days in jail. A second offense will bring another fine or more jail time, plus five points on your driving record (at 30 points, your license gets revoked). The third time? Yet another fine, and up to six months in jail.
What are Montana minimum car insurance requirements?
In Montana, driving unprotected is illegal. Drivers must carry the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Bodily Injury Liability coverage (for injuries you cause to other people)
$25,000 of coverage for the death or injury of any individual
$50,000 total coverage for the death or injury of two or more people in a single accident
Property Damage Liability coverage (for damage to someone else’s property)
$20,000 of coverage for damage if you hit someone else’s car or property
Is there a new car insurance grace period in Montana?
Sorry, but no. You must have auto insurance coverage before you drive your vehicle.
My teenager just got a learner’s permit. Is insurance necessary?
You don’t need coverage for your young driver until he or she gets a license, but it’s a good idea to talk to someone at your insurance company about its policy regarding drivers with learner’s permits.
At what age can you get a Montana driver’s license?
Montana’s three-step program helps teenagers safely develop their driving skills.
Age 14½ Learner license
One year after receiving learner license First-year restricted license
Age 18 Driver’s license
How can my teenager get a Montana driver’s license?
Youngsters can get a learner license at age 16, or at age 14½ if they have completed a state-approved traffic education program. During the learner license stage, they must rack up at least 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving experience, including 10 hours of nighttime driving.
After holding a learner license for six months, they must pass a road test to get a first-year restricted license—restrictions include not driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m., and having no more than one teenaged passenger. After one full year, the restrictions are lifted and these young motorists get full driving privileges. Alternatively, drivers can apply for a full-privileged driver license at age 18.
Need car insurance in Montana?
The availability, qualifications, and amounts of coverages, costs and discounts may vary from state to state and there may be coverages and discounts not listed here. In addition, other terms, conditions, and exclusions not described above may apply, and total savings may vary depending on the coverages purchased. For more information regarding your eligibility for certain coverages and savings opportunities, please contact your AAA agent. Insurance products in California offered by AAA Northern California Insurance Agency. License #0175868, in Nevada by AAA Nevada and in Utah by AAA Utah. Insurance provided by CSAA Insurance Group, a AAA insurer.